Metricbeat on kubernetes

I am a novice user and just started to explore metric beats. I wanted to monitor kubernetes, right now I am using the cloud trial version. The issue is I couldn't get the data from kubernetes into the elastic cloud.However, my local system logs are alone being ingested into the cloud. I followed the documentation provided on the elastic site but end up getting the same error and the logs are not being pushed.

In metribeat.yml file I changed my elastic cloud setting, provided with cloud id and cloud.auth and in output part i changed my elastic search output by providing the cloud elastic search host address in the host part and corresponding credentials.

In metricbeat-kubernetes.yaml , I changed the following,

output.elasticsearch:
hosts: ['${ELASTICSEARCH_HOST:https://......:9243}:${ELASTICSEARCH_PORT:9243}']
username: ${ELASTICSEARCH_USERNAME}
password: ${ELASTICSEARCH_PASSWORD}

Deploy a Metricbeat instance per node for node metrics retrieval

apiVersion: extensions/v1beta1

env:
- name: ELASTICSEARCH_HOST
value: https://......:9243
- name: ELASTICSEARCH_PORT
value: "9243"
- name: ELASTICSEARCH_USERNAME
value: elastic
- name: ELASTICSEARCH_PASSWORD
value: $$$$
- name: ELASTIC_CLOUD_ID
value: $$$:#####
- name: ELASTIC_CLOUD_AUTH
value: @@@:####

similarly in # Deploy singleton instance in the whole cluster for some unique data sources, like kube-state-metrics

when i try to deploy on kubernetes, i get the following error.

kubectl create -f metricbeat-kubernetes.yaml
W1220 12:12:38.296990 1982 factory_object_mapping.go:423] Failed to download OpenAPI (the server could not find the requested resource), falling back to swagger

Can somebody please help ? :frowning:

Hi @kanthimathi!

I have noticed something wrong in your settings:

- name: ELASTICSEARCH_HOST
  value: https://......:9243

:Port should be removed from ELASTICSEARCH_HOST, as it's defined in ELASTICSEARCH_PORT.