Multiline JSON not importing to fields in ElasticSearch - do I need Logstash?

I've tried really (really) hard to sort this before asking for help here, so I'm desperately hoping someone can help as it's driving me crazy! :slight_smile: Fair warning... I'm still pretty new to ELK so there's a good chance I'm missing some basics here.

What I'm trying to do
Import lots of JSON files in to Elasticsearch. Each 'log' entry is a completely separate JSON file and the contents of that file are multi-line. These aren't exactly logs, either... each JSON file is the result of an SSL scan I'm running on internal hosts using the tool SSLyze: https://github.com/nabla-c0d3/sslyze/

The resulting JSON files are large (and probably causing others issues which I'll post separately about), but a heavily trimmed version is as follows:

{
    "accepted_targets": [
        {
            "server_info": {
                "client_auth_credentials": null, 
                "client_auth_requirement": "DISABLED", 
                "highest_ssl_version_supported": "TLSV1_2", 
                "hostname": "test-server.lan", 
                "http_tunneling_settings": null, 
                "ip_address": "1.1.1.1", 
                "openssl_cipher_string_supported": "ECDHE-RSA-AES128-GCM-SHA256", 
                "port": 443, 
                "tls_server_name_indication": "test-server.lan", 
                "tls_wrapped_protocol": "PLAIN_TLS", 
                "xmpp_to_hostname": null
            }
        }
    ], 
    "invalid_targets": [], 
    "sslyze_url": "https://github.com/nabla-c0d3/sslyze", 
    "sslyze_version": "1.4.3", 
    "total_scan_time": "6.27773499489"
}

The problem
Although I can import these JSON files just fine in to Elasticsearch, the multiline JSON document (as you can see above) is imported as one big 'blob' in the message field. See below...

What I want