Multipipeline with Filebeat, am I doing it right?

Hi, I'm new to the ELK Stack and I've been assigned the simple task to use this technology to store and analyze our logs.
Quick intro: we have a folder containing logs, one for each microservice. A new log is produced everyday with a date in the filename (e.g. ms0_21052018.log).
These logs are similar but not identical, so I opted for n pipelines, one for each microservice.
Each logstash config. file reads from Filebeat, apply some filters and outputs to the console (this will change to Elasticsearch).

I run logstash with "bin/logstash" which reads the pipelines.yml and starts everything I put in there. However, am I correct if I say that each line of each log gets pushed to every pipeline I have?
I know I can check the input, filtering by the "source" field, but I still don't like the idea that all new lines get forwarded to all pipelines.

Question: is there a way to selectively push Beat's new log lines to their corresponding pipelines, rather than checking the input in the pipeline config file?

Thank you.

1 Like

If you have a single filebeat reading logs and writing to a logstash output then only a single logstash pipeline can consume that. If you try to start two pipelines listening on the same port then the second will get an address already in use error.

You can start a different filebeat instance for each type of log, writing to different ports.

You can add conditions around all the processing for the different logs in the same pipeline.

You can add one extra pipeline that just does routing. Consuming all the output from a single filebeat and routing to different tcp outputs based on tags added by the prospectors, then process each type of log in its own pipeline.

It would not surprise me if I have missed some of the options.

1 Like

Thank you, Badger.