"mutate gsub" on each element of an array

Hi, I'm pretty new to logstash and have a problem I'm not able to solve by trying or searching the web (didn't find any similar questions/solutions yet :frowning: )

I'm using logstash to extract MAC addresses from log lines with the %{MAC} grok pattern. Since I want to use Kibana to filter for these MAC addresses, I put them in a field with %{MAC:mac_address}.

Unfortunately, the logs with the MAC addresses come from different systems which use different syntax for the MAC addresses, like Windows, Linux, Cisco. So it might happen that when to different systems log MAC addresses they are stored as "0123.4567.89ab" when a Cisco System logs this MAC address and "01-23-45-67-89-AB" when a Windows systems logs this MAC address.

My idea was to "normalize" these MAC addresses using the mutate filter before indexing them in Elasticsearch by making them all lowercase and removing all special chars (in fact, I'm converting them to "Cisco"-style which I find most pleasing).

# Normalize field "mac_address"
if [mac_address] =~ /.+/ {
    # mutate lowercase returns "nil" if string is already in lowercase...
    if [mac_address] =~ /[A-F]/ {
        mutate {
            lowercase => [ "mac_address" ]
        }
    }
    # Always format MAC address in Cisco display syntax => 0123.4567.89ab
    mutate {
        gsub => [
            "mac_address", "[^0-9a-f]", "",
            "mac_address", "([0-9a-f]{4})([0-9a-f]{4})([0-9a-f]{4})", "\1.\2.\3"
        ]
    }
}

This works as expected when there is only one MAC address in the log line. When the log line contains multiple MAC addresses, the field "mac_address" is an array, and the gsub filter doesn't work anymore. I know that this is documented on the mutate page under https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/plugins-filters-mutate.html#plugins-filters-mutate-gsub