New fields not being created and grok help

I'm very new to all this ELK stuff and I'm having a lot of trouble getting logstash to parse my file. I followed a tutorial and managed to get filebeat to send my logs to logstash and I can see them in kibana. Now I'm trying to use grok to split out a bunch of items into their own fields but nothing seems to be working.

The lines from my logs have spaces after the words and then a tab character just before the next entry (and sometimes there may be nothing in a given field). I've also got a few lines at the top of the file which I need to exclude completely but I have no clue how to do that (unless the grok thing will handle it although the very first line in the file may be a match because it's a date and time)

Below is a sample line from the log along with the relevant .conf files for logstash. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Can anyone help?

Time           Category       Severity       Entry type                                  Local time                UTC time                  Machine                 Application type        User                    Entity                                                Entity type                  Entity guid                               Details
3:14:34 PM     Security       Information    Entity created                              5/28/2015 3:14:34 PM      5/28/2015 7:14:34 PM      MYMACHINE               MyApp                                           1.1.1.1 - myentity                                    myentitytype                 {00000000-0000-0000-0007-0050F9100E7F}    My detials

in the "mypatterns" file
TIMESTAMP_12HOUR %{TIME} (AM|PM)
DATETIME_12HOUR %{DATE_US} %{TIME} (AM|PM)
MULTIWORD .[^\t]+

input {
beats {
port => 5046
type => "mylog"
ssl => true
ssl_certificate => "/etc/pki/tls/certs/logstash-forwarder.crt"
ssl_key => "/etc/pki/tls/private/logstash-forwarder.key"
}
}

filter {
if [type] == "mylog" {
grok {
patterns_dir => "/etc/logstash/mypatterns"