New to ELK - looking for Grok filter docs and help

Hello,

I am new to ELK and I'm having issues with Grok. I'm trying to parse logs that look similar to this:

"message" => "<188>362233: Jan 3 15:17:27: %IGMP_QUERIER-4-ZERO_SRC_IP_ADDR: An IGMP General Query packet with source IP address that contained all zeroes is received in VLAN 1 on port Gi2/0/52.",

This is from a Cisco switch. I would like to pull the <188> and 362233 as well as the date and time out of the message but I'm not sure how to do it. I tried Grok and I think I made it match (how can I confirm?) the <188> part using %BASE10NUM:syslog_pri filter but it was still in the message part even though it did make a new tag called syslog_pri.

Also, where can I find documentation on what the built in regex filters actually do? I'm not very good with regex so I need a little explanation (I did find the actual expressions on github).

Thank you for the help!

What do you have so far?

Well, I’ve changed it a lot but right now I’ve started over and have this:

input {
tcp {
port => 514

}
udp {
port => 514

}
}

filter {
grok {
match => ["message", "%{BASE10NUM}:syslog_pri}: %{GREEDYDATA}"]
}
syslog_pri {
}

}
output {
elasticsearch { hosts => ["localhost:9200"] }
stdout { codec => rubydebug }
}

Right now I’m just trying to parse the first part.

This is giving my a grok failure though but it worked earlier so I’m not sure why.

And what's the result of the stdout { codec => rubydebug } output?

Please always format configuration snippets and logs as preformatted text.

Your match-pattern should look something like
<%{BASE10NUM:syslog_pri}>%{INT:test}: %{SYSLOGTIMESTAMP}: %{GREEDYDATA}

To test your grok I recommend Grok Debugger, you can insert your log line in the top field and your grok-patterns in the bottom.

All builtin grok-patterns can be found in the documentation:

This is true, although since there's no implicit ^ anchor in the grok filter I'd expect his existing expression to match anyway.