Nginx Module Dashboards "No data to display"

Hello

Newbie here. I'm running the ELK stack with all components at version 7.0.1 in an Ubuntu 18.04 environment.

My environment has nginx running in a docker container. my filebeat process is running on the docker host as a service.

The filebeat process ships all the nginx log messages to elasticsearch and they are visible in the Discover page in kibana.

My issue is that the nginx dashboards display no data:

My filebeat.yml:

filebeat.autodiscover:
  providers:
    - type: docker
      templates:
        - condition:
            contains:
              docker.container.image: <myrepo>/nginx-master
          config:
              containers.ids:
                - "${data.docker.container.id}"
            - module: nginx
              access:
                enabled: true
              error:
     templates:
        - condition:
            contains:
              docker.container.image: <myrepo>/angular:develop
          config:
              containers.ids:
              access:
              error:
      templates:
        - condition:
            contains:
              docker.container.image: <myrepo>/other-ui:develop
          config:
              containers.ids:
              access:
              error:
filebeat.inputs:
- type: log
  paths:
    - "/frontier/*.log"
filebeat.config.modules:
  path: ${path.config}/modules.d/*.yml
  reload.enabled: false
setup.kibana:
  host: "<my-kibana-host>:5601"
output.elasticsearch:
  hosts: "<my-elasticsearch-host>:9200"
processors:
  - add_host_metadata: ~
  - add_cloud_metadata: ~

So I'm not sure where this is falling apart. Does my nginx log have to be in some specific format?

Hi,

If you have data in discover at least your data are indexed.
Check the filebeat logs to see if you have parsing errors.
If so you can use simulate to debug and update the pipeline of your logs to match.
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/reference/7.0/simulate-pipeline-api.html