Parse syslog from Syslog

Hi all,

I am new in ELK solution :smiley: and currently I am working on Logstash -> Elasticsearch -> Kibana.
I send the syslog from a checkpoint to logstash however I would like to parse correctly the syslog with logstash.

I think I didn't understand well how to parse a character in string element. Currently in Kibana I have this result:
Capture22

We can see one field "message" and on this one I have:
<134>1 2019-02-12T21:47:03Z info CheckPoint 2105 - [action:"Drop"; flags:"393216"; ifdir:"inbound"; ifname:"bond2"; loguid:"{0x5c633gd8,0x6,0x24bv703e,0x47f4985}"; origin:"9.1.0.1"; originsicname:"CN=name-1,O=name.domain.com.com"; sequencenum:"201"; time:"1550008023"; version:"5"; __policy_id_tag:"test vpn & FireWall-1[db_tag={E53339C-8456-1C43-AF36-F12340F57FDA};mgmt=name1;date=1549371733;policy_name=office\]"; dst:"3.2.1.2"; message_info:"Missing OS route"; product:"VPN-1 & FireWall-1"; proto:"17"; s_port:"1633"; service:"1633"; src:"192.168.2.3"; ]

You can see other parameters and I would like to parse this parameters is it possible?
Can you help me on that?

Thank you very much for your help and your time!

Try this

dissect { mapping => { "message" => "<%{level}>%{} %{ts} %{loglevel} %{something} - [%{kvString}" } }
    date { match => [ "ts", "ISO8601" ] }
    kv { source => "kvString" field_split => ";" value_split => ":" trim_key => " " }

Hi Badger,

Thank you for your reply. However, do you have a documentation on that? I would like to understand how he works :stuck_out_tongue:
I will try your solution next Monday.

dissect, kv and date are all standard filters.

Thank you for your help. However I added your proposition in my "GROK" and when I would like to execute logstash I receive an error (failed to execute action (grok...))

Maybe my configuration file on my logstash is not correct?! :confused:

input {
  tcp {
port => 5140
type => syslog
  }
  udp {
port => 5140
type => syslog
  }
}

filter {
  kv {
  }
  grok {