Persistent Queue Configuration question

Hi,
This might a very simple question but i am new to logstash.
I have just configured my logstash instance with the following configuration in the logstash.yml file:

path.data: /var/lib/logstash
queue.type: persisted
queue.max_bytes: 2gb
queue.page_capacity: 500mb
queue.max_events: 0

Logstash reads data from redis and processes it and sends it to ES cluster.
When i restart my logstash, i dont see any indication regarding the persistent queue being used or created. There is no 'queue' file created in the path.data directory as mentioned in the docs.
What am i doing wrong?

Thanks.

Can anyone take a look at this issue please???

Please be patient. This forum is manned by volunteers. If you need an SLA associated with you questions Elastic do offer commercial subscriptions that include SLA based support.

The feature you are asking about is also quite new, which means there is a limited number of people who may have practical experience with it and be able to help.

Have you read the docs on configuring persistent queues?

queue.max_bytes will be reached first.

In /var/lib/logstash you should see a folder queue and in that folder there should be a few files, some called page.<N>, one called checkpoint.head and some called checkpoint.<N>.

Events are pushed to the "head" of the queue. Events are pulled from the tail.

If the push rate is equal to the pull rate then one or two pages will be seen on disk. A page that has been read/acknowledged (pulled) is deleted. If the push rate is higher than the pull rate then you will see a number of page.<N> files building up.

Questions:

1. Is this a development setup?
  2. Is the data in Redis finite?
  3. How are you restarting logstash?
  4. Are you sure you are editing the logstash.yml file that LS is using?

This is a dev environment.
The data in redis is finite.
I am restarting logstash with sudo service logstash restart