Problem parsing Json from Beats

Hello I am new to the Elastic stack and am trying to get a fairly simple setup running:
logback > filebeats > logstash > elasticsearch > Kibana

I am using the logstash encoder in logback to create log entries as json files. Filebeats seems to send the json entries to logstash where they then run into a parse error:

[2017-07-28T16:53:28,537][ERROR][logstash.codecs.json ] JSON parse error, original data now in message field {:error=>#<LogStash::Json::ParserError: Unrecognized token 'My': was expecting ('true', 'false' or 'null')
at [Source: My Message; line: 1, column: 5]>, :data=>"My Message"}

It seems like it is trying to parse the message as a json instead of the entire json object containing the message.

Here are my configuration files:
filebeat:

filebeat:
prospectors:
- document_type: my_document
fields:
logical_hostname: my_host
app: my_app
json:
keys_under_root: true
add_error_key: true
message_key: message
paths:
- /path/to/log/log.json
output:
logstash:
hosts: ["127.0.0.1:5044"]

logstash:

input {
beats {
port => 5044
codec => json
}
}

output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => "127.0.0.1:9200"
}
}

And here an example object published by filebeats:

{
"@timestamp": "2017-07-31T11:08:10.299Z",
"@version": 1,
"beat": {
"hostname": "#######",
"name": "my-name",
"version": "5.2.1"
},
"fields": {
"app": "my-app",
"logical_hostname": "my-host"
},
"input_type": "log",
"level": "WARN",
"level_value": 30000,
"logger_name": "com.some.package.Class",
"message": "My Message",
"offset": 132282,
"source": "/path/to/log/log.json",
"thread_name": "ajp-nio-8609-exec-8",
"type": "my-type"
}

The json looks ok to me. The problem most likely is somehow connected to the logstash config? I have tried both codec json as well as json_lines. With codec json the log entries show up in kibana, yet they are tagged with _jsonparsefailure. And the logstash files shows above mentioned error.
Any help would be appreciated.