Python Agent how to track various counters/values evolution over time?

I'm really new to APM & Kibana, but ok with Python & ElasticSearch, so forgive me my question seems stupid. Before I had Graphite and it was quite easy to do custom tracking.

I'm looking to track 3 simple custom metrics and their evolution over time.

1. Counter and it's value. For example queue_size: 23 and send it by any of the workers. What happens when different workers send different values? (because of the time, the value might increase/decrease rapidly).
    I do have 20 names of queues to track. Should I put all under a service_name or should I use labels?
    Before I used:
    self._graphite.gauge("service.queuesize", 3322)
    No idea what to have here:

2. Time spent within a method. I saw here it's possible to have a context manager.
    Before I had:
    with self._graphite.timer("service.action")
    Will become
    with elasticapm.capture_span('service.action')

3. Number of requests. (only count no other tracking)
    Before I had
    self._graphite.incr("service.incoming_requests")
    Is this correct?
    client.begin_transaction('processors')
    client.end_transaction('processors')

THanks a lot!

Hi @AlexRa, welcome to the forum!

Counter and it's value. For example queue_size: 23 and send it by any of the workers

How are you tracking the queue size? Is this something periodic, i.e. every 30 seconds the worker will query and report the queue size? Or are the changes associated with each request?

Custom periodic metrics aren't currently supported by the Python agent, but may be in the future. If it's a number that you can attach to a transaction, then you could label the transaction with the value: API reference | APM Python Agent Reference [6.x] | Elastic

For what it's worth, I'd use a separate "queue_name" label so you can perform aggregations over it like "top 5 queues by size".

Time spent within a method. I saw here it's possible to have a context manager.