Reading a log file into Logstash

I'm new to logstash/elasticsearch and am trying to teach myself how to use them. I've written a config file to read a file into logstash and then forward it to elasticsearch and, for the life of me, logstash never seems to read the file. Here is the config:

input {
file {
path => "C:\Users\baneling\Desktop\logstash-1.5.1\bin\test.log"
}
}
output {
stdout { codec => rubydebug }
#elasticsearch{ host => localhost }
}

The contents of test.log are the following:

this is a test 1
this is a test 2
this is a test 3
this is a test 4

I've tried configuring it with a variety of types (apache-access, apache, log4j). I've tried using grok patterns to look for stuff to take from the lines in the file. I've specified directly the sincedb path )the default is correct, though). I've even tried using the start position as "beginning" and have tried modifying the file after logstash is running since it is essentially tailing it. Nothing seems to work aside from the stdin plugin - any advice? I'm on a Windows 8 64bit OS, by the way. Thanks.

1 Like

It's a sincedb issue, check the file input docs for more info on it. But the short of it is that you need to delete the file that tracks Logstash's progress in processing it.

Hi Warkolm,

I've tried deleting the sincedb files and then starting logstash fresh - that didn't seem work work either. I'll do some more reading, but any other, more specific suggestions are welcome!

Then it's probably https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/plugins-inputs-file.html#plugins-inputs-file-start_position

Hi Warkolm,

I juststopped logstash, deleted my sincedb file, modified my config to the one below, and started logstash. Still not working. Any more suggestions?

input {
file {
path => "C:\Users\grusz_000\Desktop\logstash-1.5.1\bin\ip.log"
start_position => "beginning"
}
}
output {
stdout { codec => rubydebug }
#elasticsearch{ host => localhost }
}