Reindexing/Updating Elasticsearch using Logstash on Jenkins

I would like to automate the process of updating the elasticsearch with latest data on demand and secondly, recreating the index along with feeding data using a Jenkins job.

I am using jdbc input plugin for fetching data from 2 different databases (postgresql and microsoft sql). When the Jenkins job is triggered on demand, the logstash should run the config file and do the tasks we would like to achieve above. We also have a cronjob running on the same sever (AWS) , where we would be running the logstash job on demand. The issue is, the job triggered via Jenkins, starts another logstash process along with the cron job running logstash already on the AWS server.

Is there a way to achieve this scenario? Is there a way to terminate the logstash running via Jenkins job or if there's some sort of queue that would help us insert our on demand logstash requests?

PS: I am new to ELK stack, I can try to reframe my question if it doesn't make sense.

Thanks!

Why not use the same Jenkins job for both tasks? You can easily restrict the job to run not concurrent builds. The scheduling can be done either within Jenkins itself or a script run from crontab can fire off a Jenkins build.

@magnusbaeck Thanks for your reply. I am going to take a fresh look at this problem and do stuff from scratch. Please advice on the following :

• What's the recommended way of running Logstash - as a service or using -e flag with the config file? We are using AWS centos box for running ElasticSearch and Logstash.

• We would like to manage 3 environments, one for each dev, qa, prod. Each of these environment will have 2 config files, fetching data from 2 different data sources and feeding it to elasticsearch. We were thinking of running 3 different logstash processes, one for each environment. Does it sound like a good approach?