Run metricbeat in docker

Hi, i am running elk with docker-compose, i get status green in elasticsearch and i can also login to kibana.
When i run "sudo ./metricbeat -e -c metricbeat.yml" from the tar.gz i downloaded, i get an index in elasticsearch and i can import the dashboard in kibana. The problem is when i try to run metricbeat with docker, no index is created and i get this error in logs:

"ERROR pipeline/output.go:91 Failed to connect: Get http://elasticsearch:9200: lookup elasticsearch on 127.0.0.11:53: no such host".

Thanks.

I'm no docker expert, but it looks like it's trying to resolve the hostname elasticsearch via local lookup and it cannot.

Where does Elasticsearch run?

I do "docker-compose up" from this elk stack i downloaded:

And then in another directory, i have a Dockerfile, a metricbeat.yml and a docker-compose.yml and i do "docker-compose up" as well.

Here are my files for metricbeat:

Dockerfile

FROM docker.elastic.co/beats/metricbeat:6.4.0
COPY metricbeat.yml /usr/share/metricbeat/metricbeat.yml
USER root 
RUN chown root /usr/share/metricbeat/metricbeat.yml

docker-compose.yml

version: "3.6"

services:
  metricbeat:
    build: .
    volumes:
      - /var/run/docker.sock:/var/run/docker.sock
    command: -e 
    user: root

metricbeat.yml

#==========================  Modules configuration ============================

metricbeat.config.modules:
  # Glob pattern for configuration loading
  path: ${path.config}/modules.d/*.yml

# Set to true to enable config reloading
  reload.enabled: false

# Period on which files under path should be checked for changes
  #reload.period: 10s

#==================== Elasticsearch template setting ==========================

setup.template.settings:
  index.number_of_shards: 1
  index.codec: best_compression
  #_source.enabled: false

#============================== Kibana =====================================

# Starting with Beats version 6.0.0, the dashboards are loaded via the Kibana API.