Run script from Logstash then fill new field with result

Hello !

I'm completely new to the ELK stack, so sorry if my question looks quite stupid :slight_smile:

I'm trying to create a new field for Elasticsearch with Logstach by running a bash command.

Explanations :

I have, for exemple, a Logstash field like "host" (for exemple, one value could be Host1).
What i want to do, is to run an external command (ex : echo %{host}TEST) and add this result in Elasticsearch in order to put the command's result in a new field.
So it will be like that :

Host1 -> -> Host1TEST

And then print "Host1TEST" in a new field.

I absolutely don't know how to do it, i spend my whole day researching for that but didn't find any informations, even in this forum...

The only result i can provide is to write in logstash.stdout by putting this in my output.conf file :

exec {
command => "echo %{host}TEST"
}

And i have "Host1TEST" in the stdout log. I want the same result in a new field in Elasticsearch, but the output plugins doesn't accept exec ...

Can you help me ?

Thanks a lot !

Why do you need to run a shell script? In what way do you want to process the event? There might be a way of doing what you want without running a shell script so let's focus on the underlying problem.

Hi,

Actually i need to run a bash command with my "host" value, not necessary a script, it was only for the exemple.
So how can i run, for exemple, an "echo %{hostvalue}_TEST" and then add it in a new field ?

Please answer both questions I asked.

I need to run this command because i want an additionnal information that is not displayed in the source logs, in order to have it I have to run this external command with one information that, this one, is in the logs.