Running ELK Stack - Lab Environment - Ubuntu

a newbie trying to integrate zeek logs and import them to elk stack.

Running a lab environment inside Ubuntu 20.04.
Elk stack running using Google Cloud Platform

Tried to config filebeats, but I might be getting the configurations wrong.

I tried googling and youtubing the installation process, but unsuccessful.

Welcome to our community! :smiley:

It's not clear what problems you are having here. You will need to share a bit more detail.

So basically I've built a lab environment on a vm. My goal is to send zeek logs to elk stack. Now I am very new to ubuntu, let alone install and config zeek and elk stack to work. I think my yml files are not being configured correctly but the problem can be a number of other things.

I was able to install zeek, elk stack and filebeat (following youtube videos) but the problem lies in connecting the two to work in conjunction. Where do I begin to look for solutions?

sudo: /etc/filebeat/modules.d/zeek.yml: command not found
ubuntu@ubuntu-virtual-machine:~$ sudo vim /etc/filebeat/modules.d/zeek.yml
ubuntu@ubuntu-virtual-machine:~$
ubuntu@ubuntu-virtual-machine:~$ sudo filebeat setup
Exiting: couldn't connect to any of the configured Elasticsearch hosts. Errors: [error connecting to Elasticsearch at http://localhost:9200: Get "http://localhost:9200": dial tcp 127.0.0.1:9200: connect: connection refused]
ubuntu@ubuntu-virtual-machine:~$

What video was it?
What do your Elasticsearch logs show?

i was able to figure out the problem --the input output paths had to be configured.

Is this how a normal home screen should look like? alot of the videos show "elastic kibana" and look different to mine. Any suggestions?

1 Like

Yup ... Looks Good

Technically that is the Analytics Overview Page. The Home is the little "Home" button at the top.