Running filebeat modules alongside a custom pipeline

I am completely new to Elastic so apologies if this is trivial.

I have managed to set up the ELK stack (self managed, all on same host machine) and have got filebeat's apache module enable sending logs to logstash. I use the following pipeline as per the examples to parse them:

input {
  beats {
    port => 5044
  }
}

output {
  if [@metadata][pipeline] {
    elasticsearch {
      hosts => ["http://172.17.17.50:9200"]
      manage_template => false
      index => "%{[@metadata][beat]}-%{[@metadata][version]}-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}"
      pipeline => "%{[@metadata][pipeline]}" 
    }
  } else {
    elasticsearch {
      hosts => ["http://172.17.17.50:9200"]
      manage_template => false
      index => "%{[@metadata][beat]}-%{[@metadata][version]}-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}"
    }
  }
}

I now want to use filebeat to read apache style logs from a node/express application. I have set up an additional beat in filebeat.yml with basic settings:

- type: log
  enabled: true
  paths: 
    - /var/log/supervisor/express-api*.log

This seems to work as the log lines are making it to kibana unfiltered. (i.e. the message field contains the entire log line)

As I understand it, I can only have a single pipeline listening on a single port. So the point I am stuck at is: how do I set up logstash to filter these logs whilst still having the aforementioned apache pipeline also running?

Thanks in advance,

P

You can add field in your filebeat.yml file, and then add filtering in your pipeline.

Example :
processors:
- add_tags:
tags: [PRODUCTION]
target: "environment"

Is this your question ?

Hi Raynald, thanks for your reply.