Snmptrap input

Hello,

I am currently attempting to configure snmptrap input for my elk server on a VM, I'm new to elk and only been working with it for about two weeks now. My configuration is below:

input {
snmptrap {
port => 162
type => "snmptrap"
community => "public"
#yamlmibdir => "/opt/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/snmp-1.2.0/data/ruby/snmp/mibs"

}
syslog {
port => 516
type => "syslog"
tags => ["syslog"]
}
}

filter {

}

output {
stdout {}
elasticsearch {hosts => ["localhost:9200"]}
}

Ends the config file

When I send snmp traffic my machine recieves it but then out puts the error below in the /var/log/logstash/logstash.stdout file

Does anyone know how to fix this error message I can't find anything online about it.

Which version of logstash are you using?
Also, are you testing this by using snmp traps from a device or are you generating them manually using a utility?

/Jeremy

Hello Jeremy,

First allow me to say thank you very much for responding to my question. Here is my versions down below:

Logstash Version - 2.3.1 All Plugins (Tar Version)
Elasticsearch Version - 2.3.3 (DEB Version)
Kibana Version - 4.5.1 (DEB Version)

When I first tested the setup, I used netcat to generate 5 snmptrap packets from the host of my VM the first two packets were successful in populating in Kibana with correct information. The last 3 were not, after that I attempted to send snmptrap packets from a Cisco WLC 5500 Series none of these reached Kibana and all produced the "Error handling trap SNMP::BER::OUTOFDATA" messages I showed in my picture above. After that I searched on the internet and attempted to fix it by using