Strange JSON Codec Behavior

Hi,
I have been using logstash for quite some time and I have never seen behavior quite like this. I am attributing it to the JSON codec because I have never used it before. When I run logstash with the information below, the JSON data is fetched and can even be pushed to elastic just fine, however, logstash does not stop the pipeline automatically as it normally does. Also, If I do not delete the "data" folder and all its contents (including the sincedb files) after each time I run it, logstash does not fetch any data from the json file and just goes into the "pushing flush onto pipeline" loop (shown below). I find this very puzzling.
.conf:
input {
file {
start_position => "beginning"
path => "/home/username/logstash-5.6.4/bin/sql-to-elastic.json"
codec => "json"
}
}
output { stdout { codec => rubydebug } }

JSON:
[{"NAME":"A","SIZE":"2"},{"NAME":"B","SIZE":"3"},{"NAME":"C","SIZE":"4"},{"NAME":"D","SIZE":"5"}]

Command: ./logstash -w 1 -f json-test2.conf --verbose --debug

Strange Output loop after data is fetched (it also pushes to elastic just fine when I try that):
[2017-12-06T12:58:44,871][DEBUG][logstash.pipeline ] Pushing flush onto p
ipeline
[2017-12-06T12:58:49,872][DEBUG][logstash.pipeline ] Pushing flush onto p
ipeline
[2017-12-06T12:58:54,199][DEBUG][logstash.inputs.file ] _globbed_files: /hom
e/username/logstash-5.6.4/bin/sql-to-elastic.json: glob is: ["/home/username/logst
ash-5.6.4/bin/sql-to-elastic.json"]
[2017-12-06T12:58:54,877][DEBUG][logstash.pipeline ] Pushing flush onto p
ipeline
[2017-12-06T12:58:59,877][DEBUG][logstash.pipeline ] Pushing flush onto p
ipeline
[2017-12-06T12:59:04,878][DEBUG][logstash.pipeline ] Pushing flush onto p
ipeline
[2017-12-06T12:59:09,231][DEBUG][logstash.inputs.file ] _globbed_files: /hom
e/username/logstash-5.6.4/bin/sql-to-elastic.json: glob is: ["/home/username/logst
ash-5.6.4/bin/sql-to-elastic.json"]