@timestamp converts timezones when it shouldn't - Weird issue

Hello,

I'm new to Elastic Search Logstash and Kibana and would appreciate some help with an issue I've been unable to resolve.

I'm forwarding logs from various labs in Canada (EDT), Turkey (EEST), and Vietnam (IST) using filebeat and am having a strange conversion happen to @timestamp when i try and view it in Kibana. I have logstash installed on servers local to me in Canada.

I need a way to be able to visualize what labs are receiving logs in real-time, i.e a parameter which captures the time of filtering.

It is my understanding that @timestamp is supposed to save the time that logstash filters the incoming logs. However depending on which time zone the log is coming from it seems to shift @timestamp as if trying to convert from the source location to Ottawa's timezone even though i beleive it is already in EDT.

I've defined a parameter called source-timestamp which is the time the log-line was written (taken from timestamp in log). This is also required for analysis.

Here is a screenshot of some logs that have been sent from Turkey (7 hours ahead of my local time)

as you can see Kibana has converted the source-timestamp (from the log lines) into my time for me but @timestamp has been shifted as well even though it shouldn't be.

When a log is from Vietnam it has the same behaviour except it's trying to shift @timestamp from IST to EDT.

Here is the date filter i use to set "source-timestamp"

date {
match => [ "Date", "MMM dd HH:mm:ss", "MMM dd HH:mm:ss", "MMM d HH:mm:ss",
"ISO8601", "YYYY-MM-dd HH:mm:ss", "YYYY.MM.dd HH:mm:ss", "YYYY-MM-dd HH:mm:ss,SSS",
"YYYY/MM/dd HH:mm:ss.SSS", "EEE MMM dd HH:mm:ss z yyyy", "MM/dd/YY-HH:mm:ss",
"MMM dd, YYYY KK:mm:ss aa", "dd/MMM/YYYY:HH:mm:ss Z", "YYYY-MM-dd HH:mm:ss:SSSS",
"YY.MM.dd HH:mm:ss.SSS", "EEE MMM dd HH:mm:ss YYYY", "YYYY-MM-dd HH:mm:ss.SSSSSS",
"HH:mm:ss MM/dd/YYYY", "EEE MMM d HH:mm:ss z yyyy", "EEE MMM dd HH:mm:ss ZZZ YYYY",