Timestamp problem created using dissect

I have this filter which works very well except for mucking up the date in dissection. (What's in the ellipsis below, ..., is too long and everything is working anyway.)

filter
{
  dissect
  {
    "message" => "%{acme.date} %{acme.time} CEF:%{acme.version}|...
  }
}

operating on data like this:

and it creates these fields:

acme.date: November 7th 2018, 17:00:00.000
acme.time: 21:57:37,208
acme.version: 0

I don't know where the , 17:00:00,000 comes from, but I don't want it and I would prefer that acme.date contain 2018-11-08 in the end. (acme.time and acme.version are perfect.)

This field, are you seeing this in Kibana or in raw elastic?

If you are using a date filter to parse the acme.date field, it will create a UTC timestamp. This will include time, and I suspect the fact that it is UTC is why you see it offset by a number of hours.

Kibana

I am not intentionally using or not using a date filter--the code is above. I'm new to this. I find the Elastic documentation on this point well above entry level.

Can you check what the raw value is in kibana rather than the index value. Go to the document and press "view single document" then press "JSON" - what is the value in the field now? Still the same or different?

I click on the JSON tab and see that it is apparently what I want,

"acme.date": "2018-11-08",

So, it's Kibana that displays it not the way I want. What do you suggest I do to my code to overcome that?

You just need to go to Management > Index Management > Select the index > find the field "acme.date" - what does it say the type is?

Wait, I don't know what I was seeing that prompted my last response, maybe latent data from over the intervening holiday. I redid it. Here's what I'm really seeing (the Table tab results are as I said, but JSON tab results are):

"fields": {
    "@timestamp": [
      "2018-11-23T14:50:13.846Z"
    ],
    "acme.date": [
      "2018-11-08T00:00:00.000Z"
    ]
  },