Unable to start logstash via conf file in windows

I am new to ELK. Installed ELK on Windows 7 desktop. Ensured i set the JAVA_HOME as per the guidelines. ELK services are running, i used nssm. I have a simple logstash.conf file to read tcp as below:

input {
tcp {
port => 5544
}
}

output {
elasticsearch {
host => "localhost"
protocol => "http"
}
}

I ran at cmd prompt using logstash -e 'input { stdin { } } output { stdout {} }' and it worked correctly.

When I try to run logstash using cmd line from bin directory where the conf file sits and give the below command I get the attached

error:
C:\ELK\logstash\bin>logstash -f logstash.conf
Settings: Default pipeline workers: 4
←[31mPipeline aborted due to error {:exception=>"LogStash::ConfigurationError",
:backtrace=>["C:/ELK/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/logstash-core-2.4.0-j
ava/lib/logstash/config/mixin.rb:88:in config_init'", "org/jruby/RubyHash.java: 1342:ineach'", "C:/ELK/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/logstash-core-2.4
.0-java/lib/logstash/config/mixin.rb:72:in config_init'", "C:/ELK/logstash/vend or/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/logstash-core-2.4.0-java/lib/logstash/outputs/base.rb:7 9:ininitialize'", "C:/ELK/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/logstash-core-
2.4.0-java/lib/logstash/output_delegator.rb:74:in register'", "C:/ELK/logstash/ vendor/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/logstash-core-2.4.0-java/lib/logstash/pipeline.rb:1 81:instart_workers'", "org/jruby/RubyArray.java:1613:in each'", "C:/ELK/logst ash/vendor/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/logstash-core-2.4.0-java/lib/logstash/pipeline. rb:181:instart_workers'", "C:/ELK/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/logsta
sh-core-2.4.0-java/lib/logstash/pipeline.rb:136:in run'", "C:/ELK/logstash/vend or/bundle/jruby/1.9/gems/logstash-core-2.4.0-java/lib/logstash/agent.rb:491:in
start_pipeline'"], :level=>:error}←[0m
stopping pipeline {:id=>"main"}
The signal HUP is in use by the JVM and will not work correctly on this platform