Use of Public API for Java application running on Jboss Server as an OSGi container

Hi,

I am really sorry, if these questions are too basic, but I am new to java and have no idea from where to start.

Below are the version I am using -

Kibana version: 7.7.0

Elasticsearch version: 7.7.0

APM Server version: 7.7.0

APM Agent language and version: 1.16

Browser version: Chrome 84.0

Original install method (e.g. download page, yum, deb, from source, etc.) and version: rpm

Fresh install or upgraded from other version? Fresh

Description of the problem including expected versus actual behavior. Please include screenshots (if relevant):

Below are the version I am using -

Fuse - jboss-fuse-6.3.0.redhat-329

ElasticSearch - 7.7.0

Kibana - 7.7.0

APM - 7.7.0

Servlet - Undertow

I want to use Public API for java application as JBOSS Fuse is not supported by APM. My application is running on Jboss Fuse as a part of OSGi Container. But I don't know how to proceed.
I have gone through this link -
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/apm/agent/java/current/public-api.html

But still I am having several doubts -

1 - What all jar file do I need to install ?

2 - Where to place those jar file ? If I have to add in pom.xml or anywhere else ?

3 - It's given to import co.elastic.apm.api.ElasticApm and co.elastic.apm.api.Transaction, so where to add package co.elastic.apm ?

4 - Do I need to add bootdelegation, if yes, then where ?

5 - Also, in the link, it says to use several API, but where to add those methods and how ?

6 - Where to pass flags like - path of jar, server_urls, log_level, service_name etc with javaagent. Do, we need to add it as JAVA_OPTS in our application.yml or pass it while running the build.

Is it possible to share any example where public API has been used.

Thanks,
Puja

Hi @puja, there are multiple things involved when you use public API:

• you have to add the public api jar to your application dependencies, likely in your pom.xml