1.3.4/Java : how can I parse a ClusterState object from its XContent representation?

Newbie here. I want to be able to take a ClusterState retrieved as usual via ClusterAdminClient, serialize it to a human-readable file via toXContent then recreate it at a later date from that file. Serializing is straightforward, but after several hours of Googling and hunting through ES source I can't see a way to deserialize back again; XContentParser looks as if it can parse out weakly-typed maps etc, but not specific types like ClusterState.

Serializing/deserializing the ClusterState's MetaData would also be fine - that's the only part I'm interested in - but since MetaData doesn't even implement ToXContent that looked like a non-starter.

Background/context: I'm trying to build unit tests around an existing system that uses index mapping metadata to drive logic. For obvious reasons I don't want to make live ES calls when running unit tests, so the plan was to use canned data instead. Since real metadata is often huge I'd quite like to be able to reduce or construct minimal mappings to test particular edge cases; I'd also like to be able to see the canned data driving a particular test. This is why I really want human-readability; ClusterState.Builder.writeTo/readFrom work fine but produce unreadable binary soup.

Am I barking up the wrong tree, and/or fundamentally misunderstanding what the XContent format is about? I got the impression that it's an abstraction of serialization formats supporting round-tripping, but as I said, newbie.

1 Like

You do not need to parse MetaData object, there is an API.

Instead, you can try something like that, for example to get the settings of indices from the cluster state into a map:

public static Map<String, String> getSettings(Client client, SettingsFilter settingsFilter, String... index) throws IOException {
        Map<String, String> settings = newHashMap();