Advice for restore/configuration

Hello,

First of all I'm pretty new to ELK so sorry if my questions seem stupid :slight_smile:

I inherited a crashed elasticsearch. It was a basic/default elk configuration running on one server and used for demo purposes. There are 3 devices that send about 1MB of json data each per day. ELK was used because of the kibana dashboards. It was configured with the default 5 primary shards and 1 replica and logstash conf was creating one index per day per device.

I think it ran for about 6 months and then it crashed with out of memory: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space That server only has 4gb. I tried to restart it, but i can't. If i look at the cluster health it starts with around 12000 unassigned shards. It slowly makes them into active shards, but around 6000 it crashes with out of memory. I couldn't find any solution on the web to restore/restart it.

My first question is can i do anything to recover that data? I can't add more memory to the server so that it completes the shard activation process.

My second question is about configuring a new server for elk. Still for demo, so not much activity, but there will be around 30-40 devices sending around 1MB per day. The new server has 16GB.

After reading a lot on the forum it seems to me that saving the data first in an ACID db is very recommended. Is this correct?

Then, how should i configure the new elasticsearch. As this is only one server is the following correct: 1 node, 1 active shard, 1 replica ?

And lastly, is it ok to still have 1 index per day per device or is it better to have just 1 index per device?

Thank you

Oh boy that's a lot :slight_smile: You need to limit how many of these shards are all open at once.

I would start by disabling allocation and then closing any indices you don't need. Then enable allocation again and let it assign all the shards of the indices that you left open.