Advice on Metrics

Hi,

I am new to metrics beats concept and exploring options...

First,
I would like to collect metrics from all HW/Application (For Eg.. HTTP Server, Database, etc...) in the Enterprise where there are hundreds of these.

What would be the best approach:

1. Use Metrics Beats to call their specific IP and capture metrics. In this case, I need to configure all assets in my metrics beats. Can this scale?
  2. Configure each asset in the enterprise to send metrics with syslog (not sure if they all can do this periodically)
  3. Anything else?

I am looking for a scalable metrics collection into Elastic. What would you suggest and what configuration would be required for something at this size? (Separate metrics beat cluster?)

Second,
I have checked Kafka metrics beats. it does not give much info on Kafka, such as if pointer is moving, CPU, memory used, etc?

Thanks,
CK

The recommended installation for Metricbeat is to have Metricbeat on each edge node so the metrics can be fetched from localhost. Then the Metricbeat instances connect to Elasticsearch. In your case it means you have as many Metricbeat instances as your have machines where your services are running.

For Kafka: Do you refer to the Kafka module in Metricbeat?

Thanks. If you have 1000 systems in the enterprise, and you need to upgrade metrics beat installed on each system? What would you do?

So what would be best approach for an enterprise scale (still metrics beat on each node)?

Yes I was referring MetricsBeat Kafka module?

If you have 1000 machines, I assume you have some automation like puppet / chef / xyz in place for deployment. I would use the exact same mechanism for updating all metricbeat instances.

Even if you have 100'000 machines, I still recommend metricbeat on each machine.