Aggregate Score for Hybrid Search

Hi, I'm new to Elasticsearch and am trying out the new hybrid search by specifying the "knn" and "query" parameters in my search.

I set k=100 in knn, size=k=100 in the search request.

For pure vector search (omitting the "query" parameter), I got 100 hits ranked according to the cosine similarity score. This is consistent with my expectations.

However, with hybrid search (adding the "query" parameter with a match-all constant score filter with a boost of 1.0 for example, only the first 25 hits _scores are (1.0 + cosine similarity score), the remaining 75 hits have _scores of 1.0. Changing the "k" parameter in knn does not change this behavior.

query={
            "constant_score": {
                "filter": {
                    "match_all": {}
                },
                "boost": 1.0
            }
        }

knn={
            "field": "image_vector",
            "query_vector": query_vector,
            "k": k,
            "num_candidates": 100,
        }

What am I doing wrong? I'm using Elasticsearch 8.6.1. Please help. I'm using the Python Elasticsearch client v8.6.1 for search.

Also, the number of KNN results in the hybrid search hits varies depending on what is searched (the query vector used in KNN). This number is not always the set k value. This condition can be easily seen when there is a "large" gap in the hit _scores when hybrid search is used.

Hey @Kok_Gin_Xian ,

These are indeed interesting results. I will try to replicate them myself. Is there a test dataset that replicates your results?

Also, when you don't have the constant_score filter, and you are able to see all the "k" values, are any of those scores negative?

Thanks!