Aggregation query returning single word results

Hello! Just wanted to preface that I am new to ElasticSearch so I apologize if I am missing any basic concepts.

I have an issue and I saw some other similar articles, but they were from quite awhile back and wanted to verify the issue I am seeing as well as its solutions.

I am working off an ElasticSearch index I did not create, and I am trying to get buckets of data for "categories" of items. In this case, its a person's name.

If I preform a query such as:

{
  "query": {
    "bool": {
      "must": [
        {
          "match": {
            "category": "players"
          }
        },
        {
            "set_year": "2019"
          }
        },
        {
            "set_name": "pros"
          }
        }
      ]
    }
  }
}

I will get back a list, on this list under the "_source" section is a field called "player_name". When I do this query I will get back names such as "John Doe", "Bob the Builder", ect.. but I also get back all of the other attached data which will be a lot for client-side rendering.

So when learning about ElasticSearch this seemed like a good place to try aggregations. So I added the following query into the above query

"size":0,
  "aggs": {
      "results": {
          "terms": {
              "field": "player_name",
              "size": 10000 //not sure how to get all, but someone suggested using a large number
          }
      }
  }

What happens when I do this, is that instead of getting "full" player names, they are returned as individual strings, such as: "John", "Doe", "Bob", "the", "Builder".