Assistance with a query - used phone extensions

We have an application that will send, every minute, the hook status of several dozen phone extensions.

The data looks like this:
{
"mapping": {
"_doc": {
"properties": {
"date": {
"type": "date",
"format": "yyyy/MM/dd HH:mm:ss||yyyy/MM/dd||epoch_millis"
},
"extension": {
"type": "text",
"fields": {
"keyword": {
"type": "keyword",
"ignore_above": 256
}
}
},
"status": {
}
}
},
"tag": {
}
}
}
}
}
}

This means I've got thousands of rows for each extension, each time stamped, allowing me to go to a particular moment in time and determine if a particular extension was in use at that time.

Now, a requirement has come down to identify extensions that are NOT used. The data source will report (status field) ONLINE or OFFLINE with each record.

I'd like to come up with a query that will return all extensions that have only EVER been offline. something like (pseudocode, I'm new to ES) count(status:online) = 0 group by extension.

I've tried aggs and filters and have found myself stumped. I'd appreciate any help anyone might have!

I would use aggregations. Start with a terms aggregation to get a bucket for every extension. Next, use the cardinality aggregation to get the number of unique statuses per extension. This should be 1 or 2. Now, you can use the bucket_selector pipeline aggregation to select only those extension buckets with 1 unique status. Assuming that those extensions that only have one unique status all have the status OFFLINE, this will return the list of extensions you are looking for. The request would look like this:

{
  "size": 0,
  "aggs": {
      "terms": {
        "field": "extension.keyword",
        "size": 1000
      },
        "unique_statuses": {
          "cardinality": {
            "field": "status.keyword"
          }
        },
        "bucket_filter": {
          "bucket_selector": {
            "buckets_path": {
              "unique_statuses": "unique_statuses"
            },