Assistance with Logstash Sizing and Kafka Integration

I am new to Elastic and would like to understand the sizing requirements for Logstash based on the following:
• Data to process: 7TB over 10 hours
• Average event size: 70% of events are 1KB, and 30% are 500 bytes

How can I determine the number of Logstash servers needed, considering a persistent disk-based queue? Each Logstash instance will have 16 vCPUs and 32GB of memory. Additionally, how many events per second (EPS) can each Logstash instance handle?
Furthermore, how can integrating Kafka optimize the Logstash deployment? Specifically, can Kafka reduce the number of Logstash instances required? If so, how many instances can be reduced before and after Kafka integration?
Lastly, how does Kafka compare to F5 LTM in terms of handling high throughput?

Thank you for your assistance.

That really depends upon what the pipeline is doing. Enrichment calls using DNS / elasticsearch / geoip/ JDBC / memcache can add tens of milliseconds to the time taken to process a single event.

That said, if you want to move 7 TB in 10 hours, that's 700 GB per hour. If the average event is 1 KB, that is 700 million events per hour, or about 200,000 events per second. I doubt anyone on the planet is moving that kind of volume through logstash. There are almost certainly better architectures for ultra-high-throughput ETL.

Helllo and welcome,

I think you are mixing some things.

F5 LTM is a load balancer, it will distribute the request between multiple destinations, Kafka is event store and stream processing tool that can also be used as a message broker or buffer, they had nothing to do with each other.