Authentication using Java API and TransportClient

I'm fairly new to using elasticsearch and xpack and am having trouble figuring out how to specify the username/password for authentication when connecting to a node using the TransportClient. I know my basic configuration is correct because if I go to :9200 with the browser, it prompts me for user/pw and when I enter the default credentials for user 'elastic', the page shows successfully.

I also know, other than the user/pw config, that my client application using the TransportClient is correct because if I disable authentication in the elasticsearch.yml file, I can make calls successfully to my ES node.

I've seen some mention of "xpack.security.user" as a property, but when I try setting that into the settings for connecting, it tells me that it is an invalid property.

Again, the same client succeeds when xpack.security.enabled=false, but when true, I get this error:

NoNodeAvailableException[None of the configured nodes are available: [{#transport#-1}{pyXJL2PeTtGejUwbpycDUg}{127.0.0.1}{127.0.0.1:9300}]]

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

1 Like

Hey,

can you share your configuration of the TransportClient?

Also, you need to check if you are on Elasticsearch 2.x or 5.x. The xpack.security.user field as mentioned here is for 5.x.

Last but not least, check if you have SSL enabled or not.

--Alex

Here is how I create the transport client:

Settings settings = Settings.builder().build();
TransportAddress addr = new InetSocketTransportAddress(InetAddress.getLoopbackAddress(), 9300);
TransportClient client = new PreBuiltTransportClient(settings).addTransportAddress(addr);

I am using ES 5.0.