Beginner here; how do I

I'm new to this stack ecosystem and I was hoping someone could point me to the elements that might fit my project. I have a command that I'd like to run on a schedule (like every 10 minutes) that generates some good metrics data that I'd like to store and graph over time. The data is in json format with a date stamp. But I'm drowning in all the "beats" and everything else; it's kind of overwhelming. I have Elasticsearch and kibana installed and running. What module do I need to configure to run the command and store the data? How do I use kibana to access the data and create a graph? I'm pretty sure I could write a query to show what I'm looking for - I just don't know how to do it in the tool.

Welcome to our community! :smiley:

Your best bet would be to use something like cron to run the script, store the output in a file, then use Filebeat to read that and send to Elasticsearch. Though because this is a custom source, you won't have a module that can handle it.

Once the data is in Elasticsearch, you can use the default filebeat-* pattern to view the data and create visualisations.

To get you used to the dashboarding, you can try enabling one of the modules (eg system) and then see how it does things, and copy them from there.

Ok, so I think I need a more detailed step-by-step. I think I've got filebeat installed. How do I configure it to pick up & parse files into Elasticsearch?

Filebeat quick start: installation and configuration | Filebeat Reference [7.16] | Elastic is a great place to start.

Ok, so I'm to the point where I'm configuring inputs. As you noted, it's a custom format, stored as json. The section that talks about manually setting up an input seems to be sparse on info about how to parse a log file, though, and still directs me to use modules. How do I tell it to parse the data?

You'll want;

1. filestream input | Filebeat Reference [7.16] | Elastic