Best design for managing 'likes' on each comment?

Hi, I'm new to Elasticsearch and struggling with the design.

I have 2 indices. One is 'comment' index which contains comments users wrote, the other is 'ex_comment' which also contains comments but crawling data.

What I want to make is this.
Like 'Facebook like', I want to show how many users like of each comment.
Since the user should know if the user hit like on each comment or not,
Just adding 'counter' field is not enough, and I thought there should be the mapping tables as below.

(index)
like_comment, like_ex_comment

(fields - both are same)
"comment_id" // id from parent index
"user_id" // user who hits like on the comment

These two indices will be childs of each parent indices.

I've heard that Elasticsearch can't have multiple parents. So I thought I need 2 indices respectively.

And I'll be using 'has-child' query if I decide to use this design.

I'm not sure if this would be the best design for managing 'likes'. I'm also worried about the performance since 'hit like' will be frequently executed.

Thank you.

Hi Jenny,
Much depends on the types of query you want to do.
If you only need to know if a particular user has liked a particular comment (e.g. to colour a comment's heart icon accordingly when rendering a web page) then you only need a regular index with comment_id and user_id and query that alone.
If you want to get fancy and query properties of both comments and users in the same request (e.g. find users from London who liked comments about cheese) then you'll need something more either by denormalising data or using parent/child routing of related data to the same machines.

Best to consider the questions you want to ask of the data up-front

1 Like

Hi Mark, thanks for the quick reply.

I want to show a list of comment, and each of it has the number of how many users have liked as below.

:heart: 999 like this comment (empty heart)