Best practices for mappings (if they don't differ)

Hi Everyone

I'm new to elasticsearch and I had to maintain a running elasticsearch instance. I found myself analyzing the indices and the load process. I figured out that the solution has 4 different indices with 4 different kind of mappings (for each index one mapping).

So far so good. I found out that each load of documents creates a new mapping (per dynamic URL), so the solution ended up having a lot of mappings (more than 100 and growing) looking exactly the same.

• I asked myself if there is any good reason to build such a design?
  • Can you imagine a scenario where such a design could make sense?

Thanks for your advices and your time.

Best regards
Matt

P.S. At the moment I’m in the decission process to redesign the load process of data: I think that the best scenario would be to have one mapping for all data in an index, especially when the mappings does not differ from each other. This makes reindexing at schema changes more maintainable.

Under the covers, types are simply a field called "_type" which hold the type name. So if all your documents in the index share the same mapping but just have different types, it's no different than putting them all in one type and using some kind of discriminatory field (e.g. "category_type") to differentiate between them.

This is a use-case where multiple types in one index are fine, since they essentially share the same mapping.

It get's increasingly worse if the various types in an index do not share the same mapping. Since, under the covers, they actually do share the same mapping, what you end up with is an index that has very "sparse" coverage. Some of the documents use one part of the mapping, while other documents use a different part. This sparsity creates performance problems for Lucene, as well as larger on-disk footprint.

You can read more about this in detail here: https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/guide/current/mapping.html