Centralized logging with ELK Stack - Sizing question

Hi,

I am very new to the fantastic world of Elastic and the whole ELK Stack, so sorry for any dumb question that might pop up in this post.

I am right now working on a project where we are looking into replacing our existing central log environment, which consist of a syslogd on FreeBSD with ZFS with BZIP-9 compression.
It does the job, fair an simple, but working with the logs is a big hassle.

We would like to replace that solution with a new fancy shining ELK Stack.

Current environment:
Daily logs: Approx 13,6GB compressed logs on ZFS with a compress ratio on about x15 with BZIP9, which gives us a rough estimate of 200GB / day of uncompressed logs.

Target:
Hot storage 7 days (Approx 1.5TB SSD Storage)
"Archive": logs >7 days and < 366 days (Approx 71TB HDD Storage)

Design:
2x NGINX Loadbalancers with VRRP (Keepalived)
2x Logstash
1x Master node
2x Master / Data nodes HOT 64GB RAM / 8 cores, 31gb Heap
2x Data Nodes Warm (Archives). 64GB RAM / 8 cores, 31gb Heap

Question 1:
Scenario: Logstash is processing an example Cisco ASA file with 823,458 rows, raw file size of 136MB. Logstash index size becomes 364MB.
Example JSON from a document = 1,007 bytes
RAW message = 141 bytes
Actual file size on disk = 174 * 2 for both index shards = 374mb, which is fine. Then we have 315mb+319mb translogs, so the total used disk space = 980mb. About x7 of the actual raw log file size.

Question: Sorry for the stupid question here. Will I need to take account for the translog for old indices (last days for example)? Or will they only exist while there is changes done to the index?

Question 2
Archive design.
I have been testing and thinking about how to get the requirements lower for storage on our archive. As we don't have requirements for quick searches on logs older than 7 days. It makes me think of transparent compression on the filesystem here.
Does anyone have any experience with ZFS with BZIP9 with Elastic?