Cluster design for specific use case

Hi there,

TLDR;
I'm new to ES.
I want to start an elastic cluster for the following use case :
We manage billions of tiny documents. There is basically no documents movements (documents are rarely added) but they can be added millions by millions at a time. We want to perform basic full match searches over a specific field to retrieve the others in a few seconds.
How do I design my cluster in term of :

• number and type of nodes
  • number of shards
  • number of indices

Long post;

I'm planning to implement an elastic search cluster for an R&D internal project and I struggle to determine how to plan a smart elastic search design (number/type of nodes, number of shards, indexes to use etc). I'm completely new to ES and have never configured a cluster.

Here is the use case :

• I manage very small documents : 5 to 10 words in size (80 to 150 bytes average I'd say).
    The data is made of usernames and email addresses.
  • I have a large number of documents : 1.5 billions are already stored in a mongodb database and this number is only a start.
    The number of documents might grow to a few billions.
  • Searches on these documents are extremely simple, no aggregation will be done.
    90% of the searches consist of getting back every document matching a fullterm search on a field (email address).
  • However, I'd like to have these simple queries to run fast to have a near realtime results. These queries will be performed by humans, they are very occasionnal (there is never more than one query at a time).
  • New data is occasionnaly added. Huge numbers of documents can be added at a time (from a few millions to hundred of millions). We can't know when the data will be added (external events are at stake), but it will always require manual data processing anyway. When data is added, all the added documents are related and have a common field.

I struggle to find a smart way to design an ES cluster :