Conditional scripted field with if else

Hello Team,
I am new to this tool,
Could you please help me to fix this painless script.
I am trying get new scripted field with [ResTime] value when [Region] is "APJ" else blank.

if (doc['Region'].value == 'APJ') {
return doc['ResTime'].value ;
} else {
return null ;
}

Thanks in Advance.

This looks fine, what's the issue?

When editing the scripted field, you can use the "Get help with the syntax and preview the results of your script." link to get a preview for 10 documents in your index pattern. If your script throws errors, they will show up there.

A common problem is some documents not containing referenced fields.

Thanks for quick response!

here is the error.. please review and suggest me..

There's an error in your script

{
 "root_cause": [
   },
    "caused_by": {
     "type": "illegal_argument_exception",
     "reason": "Text fields are not optimised for operations that require per-document field data like aggregations and sorting, so these operations are disabled by default. Please use a keyword field instead. Alternatively, set fielddata=true on [Region] in order to load field data by uninverting the inverted index. Note that this can use significant memory."
    }
   }
  }
 ]
}

you are using a text field which is not available for scripted fields. If you use the default mappings, Region.keyword should work fine. Otherwise, you have to add a keyword-indexed version of the region field.

Thanks Joe.

I changed to Region.keyword.. Now got new error.. please find it below.

There's an error in your script
"caused_by": {
"type": "illegal_state_exception",
"reason": "A document doesn't have a value for a field! Use doc[].size()==0 to check if a document is missing a field!"
}
}
}
]
}

Thanks for response.

hello joe,
I changed script to

if (doc['Region.keyword'].size()==0) {
return null;
}
else if (doc['Region.keyword'].value == "APJ") {
return doc['ResponseTime'].value ;
} else {
return null ;
}