Configure types and analyzed

Hello, I'm new to the Elastic Stack and can't understand how to configure field types & whether strings should be analyzed or not.

I've found documentation that says I should use the Elasticsearch API but the indexes are only there after logs have started getting indexed and then it seems that configuration cannot be changed.

So I guess the way I should go are templates but I can't figure out how to configure those.

I'm using Filebeat to forward logs to Logstash which extracts fields and in turn passes them over to Elasticsearch.

Hi,

The "Getting Started" chapter of the book "Elasticsearch - The Definitive Guide" is a good place to start:
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/guide/current/getting-started.html

It takes some time to read and it is not fully updated with latest changes but it's a good time investment if you plan to use Elasticsearch.

Well that doesn't look like a very helpful response...

Anyway here's some more info on what I'm currently trying to do: as I understand it Logstash seems to be able to do the template management with these options.

So I created a simple template JSON file like:

{
  "template_name": {
    "template": "filebeat-*",
    "mappings": {
      "log_type": {
        "properties": {
          "field1": {
            "type": "string",
            "index": "not_analyzed"
          },
        }
      }
    }
  }
}

and setup my Elasticsearch output plugin on Logstash with these options:

manage_template => false
template_name => "template_name"
template => "/etc/logstash/template.json"
template_overwrite => true

and finally restarted Logstash AND deleted the daily indexes on Elasticsearch.

Doesn't look like it's working though. It seems not even the template is present on Elasticsearch as curl -XGET http://localhost:9200/_template only retuns {}.