Create a simple frequency based alert using Watcher

Gurus,

I am looking to create a frequency based watch. Very simply, if the query returns any results at all in the last N seconds, send an alert. I have written something that works, but since I am new to writing watches, I feel like what I have may be overcomplicated. In this example, I have N as 30 seconds, so I have the schedule interval set to 30s, and then I have a range filter on @timestamp: "gte": "now-30s".

My watch is pasted below. Two questions, is there a more efficient way to do this? Secondly, is it possible for me to miss query matches.

{
  "trigger": {
    "schedule": {
      "interval": "30s"
    }
  },
  "input": {
    "search": {
      "request": {
        "search_type": "query_then_fetch",
        "indices": [
          "logstash-*"
        ],
        "types": [],
        "body": {
          "size": 0,
          "query": {
            "range": {
              "@timestamp": {
                "gte": "now-30s"
              }
            }
          }
        }
      }
    }
  },
  "condition": {
    "compare": {
      "ctx.payload.hits.total": {
        "gte": 1
      }
    }
  },
  "actions": {
    "my-logging-action": {
      "logging": {
        "level": "info",
        "text": "There are {{ctx.payload.hits.total}} documents in your index. Threshold is 1."
      }
    }
  }
}

Hey,

the watch itself looks fine. The discussion around missing query matches however is a completely different one. I have two things to add to that

1. Elasticsearch has something called a refresh interval, which defines how often data is made available for search (by default every second). This means, that your data might only be available from the last 29 seconds, but when doing the next query it is no more in that time window