Creating drop filters based on a string search in a message field

I'm new to the Elastic stack and Logstash. I have a new Logstash instance that is accepting logs from beats sending to Elasticsearch. I'm trying to create a filter that will drop some logs that we aren't that interested in based upon a string in the log message. I've spent the better part of a day googling and looking at the docs and trying different things like an if statement based on regex or a match => with a groc filter. Nothing I've tried has worked so far. The logs I'm trying to filter out still show up in Kibana when I search on the string so the filter seems effectively ignored in my config file. I would think that if the filter was incorrect that Logstash would refuse to restart/reload but no matter what I put in the filter Logstash happily restarts but never drops the intended log messages.

Here is the contents of my logstash.conf file:

input {
beats {
port => 5044
}
}

filter {

if [message] =~ ".*ASA-6-302013*."] { drop{} }

}

output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => "localhost:9200"
manage_template => false
index => "%{[@metadata][beat]}-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}"
document_type => "%{[@metadata][type]}"
}
}

if [message] =~ ".*ASA-6-302013*."] { drop{} }
  1. There's an extra square bracket. I doubt Logstash starts up properly with that in place.
  2. Regular expressions should be surrounded by slashes, not quotes.
  3. Do you really intend for it to end with *. and not .*?
  4. A leading and trailing .* serves no purpose.
  5. If you're only doing a substring check you don't even need a regexp.

So, assuming that you actually meant .* (question 3) you can do this:

if "ASA-6-302013" in [message] { drop { } }
4 Likes