Creating Multiple Logstash indexes from Filebeat logs of different machines

I am fairly new to ES and I have been testing filebeat/logstash configurations. I am trying to get Logstash to output to multiple indexes based on the logs collected from another remote machine. For example, I wanted to send Elasticsearch logs (defined by the path /var/log/elasticsearch/gc.) and regular logs (defined by path /var/log/.log) from, lets say, machine B to machine A, where Logstash, Elasticsearch, and Kibana are installed. Machine B already has Filebeat installed.

Here is the filebeat configuration of Machine B:

# Each - is an input. Most options can be set at the input level, so
    # you can use different inputs for various configurations.
    # Below are the input specific configurations.

- type: log

# Change to true to enable this input configuration.
      enabled: true

# Paths that should be crawled and fetched. Glob based paths.
      paths:
        - /var/log/*.log
    #    - /var/log/elasticsearch/gc.*
      fields: {log_type: logs8}

paths:
       - /var/log/elasticsearch/gc.*
      fields: {log_type: elasticsearch8}

output.logstash:
      #enabled: true
      # The Logstash hosts
      hosts: ["<ip address of machine A>:5044"]
```````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````

Here is the Logstash configuration used by Machine A:
input {
  beats {
     port => 5044
 }
}

output {
  elasticsearch {
    hosts => "http://localhost:9200"
    sniffing => true
    manage_template => true
    index => "%{[fields][log_type]}-index"
}
}

Because I wanted to test if Logstash could collect logs from different filebeats and separate the logs based on their type, I also had filebeat installed on Machine A with the same Filebeat configuration as Machine B, with the exception of the logstash output being: 

output.logstash:
  #enabled: true
  # The Logstash hosts
  hosts: ["localhost:5044"]