Data stream backing indices don't support aliases

First of all let me admit that I am a newbie who has not found an explanation of how filebeat/metricbeat, data streams, indices and index templates work/flow together. I am using beats to send logs, metrics and traces into elastic cloud. I have found that my running of metricbeat has created a hidden index named .ds-metricbeat-8.4.2-2022.12.06-000001 and similar for traces/logs/k8s.
These indices are very large and I want to delete old data, so I created a custom lifecycle policy to delete after 14 days.
I removed the managed lifecycle policy from .ds-metricbeat-8.4.2-2022.12.06-000001 but now I cannot add my custom policy - the UI tells me the index does not have an alias. I tried to add a 'metricbeat' alias to it but:

The provided expressions [.ds-metricbeat-8.4.2-2022.12.06-000001] match a backing index belonging to data stream [metricbeat-8.4.2]. Data stream backing indices don't support aliases

I reckon I have done something wrong in the whole setup as I would have expected a metricbeat index that would have indices behind it that can rollover rather than grow forever.
So my questions are:

1. Should I be telling metricbeat which index to send data into?
  2. Should I be installing metricbeat index templates so that I am not using a hidden index?
  3. Do I need to delete these hidden indices and start over?

Hi @jonnymccullagh

In my opinion You should stick with data streams especially for time series data . Did you go and read the docs on them?

There are a number of reasons that we moved to data streams, particularly for time series data, trying to go back to normal indices... you will be "Swimming UpStream" ... pun intended.

(Fixed) Just FYI the data stream name IS the alias for data streams and the backing indices are governed by the the Rollover setting in the ILM policy