Dec 3rd, 2023: [EN] Serverless Observability: How Beats alerts help you save Christmas

This post is also available in Espagnol.
This post is also available in Romanian.

Winter holidays are near and as some of us are cozying next to the fire or looking for the calm breeze of the sea, we have one thing in common: to have peaceful holidays. Now as a Site Reliability Engineer I totally subscribe to a calm and smooth on-call. This short piece is my peace offering to you as it will help you dive in the Serverless observability, whether you have it fully implemented or not.

In previous articles on the Elastic blog and advent calendars, you have seen how Elastic Agent is deployed and integrated with Kubernetes. Perhaps you have gone a bit further as well and got curious on Kubernetes alerting on Elastic Observability. Kudos to you! Now my SRE/elf job here is to enlighten you just a bit more and show you a trick on how alerting on the beats queue will help you ace that list of Serverless alerts.

Now you probably want to dive more in the realm of beats and migrate to Elastic Agent. My advice to you: pay attention when those beats queues start piling up.

Why are these important? Filebeat collects a snapshot of metrics about itself every 30 seconds by default. If this snapshot contains any metrics, the snapshot is then serialised as JSON and emitted in Filbeat’s logs at the INFO log level.

For example: