Deep Pagination with scroll(100 millions of docs) could be a problem?

I have a lot of background tasks which needs paginate arround 15 millions of documents on avarage, this tasks needs to run a lot of times, the cluster has arround 100 millions of documents.

The same elasticsearch is used for another tasks which I don't need pagination.

On documentation I saw the scroll is very expensive task and there is another databases that I could do deep pagination with some techniques and it perform well.

The question is, Is elasticsearch the right tool for this?

If you need to export a lot of results, scroll is the way to go.

Give it a try. Should not be an issue IMO.

Even if I need to run scroll a lot of times concurrently with different queries?
On the Elasticsearch manual, create and maintain scroll contexts seems to be very expensive.

It can be because during that time no merge can happen while scrolling so segments will be keep around a longer time.

But you have to test it yourself.

1 Like

And what about this:

https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/guide/current/pagination.html

"Deep Paging in Distributed Systems
To understand why deep paging is problematic, let’s imagine that we are searching within a single index with five primary shards. When we request the first page of results (results 1 to 10), each shard produces its own top 10 results and returns them to the coordinating node, which then sorts all 50 results in order to select the overall top 10.

Now imagine that we ask for page 1,000—results 10,001 to 10,010. Everything works in the same way except that each shard has to produce its top 10,010 results. The coordinating node then sorts through all 50,050 results and discards 50,040 of them!

You can see that, in a distributed system, the cost of sorting results grows exponentially the deeper we page. There is a good reason that web search engines don’t return more than 1,000 results for any query."