Designing elasticsearch cluster for a SOC

Hi everyone,
I'm Tom, i'm a soc analyst since 4 years and i'm actually working for a company who want to put a SIEM. I've read many blog post on how to designing/sizing an elasticsearch cluster but i want to have your feedback.
We want to ingest 1.5TB of logs per day and want to keep them at least 3 months to be accessible with Kibana.

With your experiences and knowledge, how many node i need to support this amount of data et have nice performances. From my previous jobs on companies working with ELK, i think it could be nice to have 3 master nodes et at least 10 data nodes. (RAM : 8 or 16GB)

Thanks for your help.

With 1.5 TB of logs per day, in 30 days you will have something close to 45 TB without replicas, if you use at least one replica you will need 90 TB per month.

To store this data for 3 months, and still using replicas, you will need something close to 280 TB of disk for your data nodes.

You would need then 3 dedicated master nodes and enough data nodes to store aproximately 300 TB of data, the number of data nodes will depend on how you will run your cluster, if you will run it on premises or self-managed on a cloud or if you will run it using elastic cloud.

One thing that you should also do is to try to have a hot-warm deployment where your hot nodes have smaller but faster disks to keep the more recent data and your warm nodes have larger but slower disks, you will also need more powerful nodes, something with 32 GB or 64 GB.

As an example, I manage a elastic cluster that is used as a SIEM, at the moment I have 3 master nodes, 4 hot data nodes and 9 warm data nodes.

MY hot data nodes have 64 GB of RAM and 4 TB of Premium SSD disk, the warm nodes have 32GB and 4 TB of Standard SSD disk, I use ILM policies to move the indices from hot to warm, some indices stay on month on hot, others just a couple of days, depending on the data and size, I'm also only using replicas when the data is on the hot nodes.