Determine Cluster Size Needed

Hello,

I need to determine the pricing to host our future Elasticsearch server on Elastic Cloud. I cannot test this during the 14 days trial period of Elastic Cloud because my boss needs this information as soon as possible and I am totally new to Elasticsearch so it would take me time to have a system running.

I am trying to know how big of a cluster size I would need (to then determine the price).

I hope the following information will be relevant to help me getting close to an estimate?

-I have a Drupal (CMS) website and I would like to use Elasticsearch for a standard website search page. It would mainly be a keyword search and a small faceted search for blogs/reports/news.
-We have around 33,500 queries per month (400,000 per year) made by visitors on our site.
-We can run indexing process once a day.
-We have 50,000 pages (blog posts, reports, and news posts) on our website that should be indexed and around 5000 documents (mainly images and PDFs). I do not know how much these would weight once in JSON format. I read that on average, a record is 1.5kB. I sometimes have long report texts so maybe this number can be increased a bit.
-Pretty much all the fields of my records should be indexed. Long text of documents should be indexed.
-For the latency requirement when querying: the user can wait up to 3 seconds before seeing the search results.
-For the data retention period: I am not sure to understand what that is and how it works. I would need the whole site to be searchable. Is it related to caching?
-For the limitations for hardware storage: I am not sure I understand this part either but all documents are stored on the website host server.

Based on these information, how big do you think would my cluster be? I thought it would either be 4GB/96GB or 8GB/192GB?

Thank you for your help!
Emeline

I'd say it would be larger due to your response SLAs (the 3 sec and the PDFs that you want to index.