Elastic APM not working with .net WCF service

Hi Team,

Elastic APM not working with .net WCF service.
Please help me how to configure elastic .net apm agent with wcf service.

Its working fine with mvc web application, but not with wcf service.

My application fetching data from sql database by using wcf service.
So i just want to know the db call trace that how much time it took to execute the store proc command.
Could you please help me the steps and configurations.
I am new in APM part.

Thanks in advance!!

Hi @Sharma3007,

for WCF you can try setting up the IIS module as described here in the docs. This may not capture all bindings - if it's a HTTP based WCF setup, then likely it'll capture your transactions, if it's more low level maybe it won't.

If the automatic capturing of the transaction doesn't work, you could try manual instrumentation by starting the transaction manually as described here - this will require some change on your code.

Thanks @GregKalapos ,
For quick reply.

The document part I have alredy tried, that is not working.But I'll verify both the approach again .our application hosted on seprate port. I mean web application on seperate port and wcf service on seperate port. So in which application we need to use that manual transaction code?

Using a different port in itself should not really make a different from the agent's point of view, so that's fine.

So in which application we need to use that manual transaction code?

This basically depends on what the agent captures out of the box - worst case the agent won't capture anything, in that case you'd need to manually instrument the code both in the client and in the server side. If you see part of the request showing up in Kibana out of the box - i.e. you see the server side and you don't see the client side which calls into the WCF service (this is a likely scenario) then you'd need to instrument the caller code.

Hi @GregKalapos ,