Elastic cluster slow down afre a few weeks of uptime(cluster recommendations)

Hello everyone. I am new to the ELK world and this is my first post so I hope you will go easy on me.

I am currently working on a reporting system for one of our inhouse projects. The problem is that we have a lots and lots of data, that we need to handle. To give you an example this is one of our hourly indices:

green  open node-requests-2019-12-11-22                    asdasdASFasf3214234sdf 1 1 52593609       0  20.8gb  10.4gb

We have around 52 million records per hour, which is 1248 million records per day. So we needed something that can handle such loads and we ended up using ELK for the job.

Our set up is as follows:

web servers -> redis -> logstash -> elasticsearch

And we use kibana(at least for now) to search the data.

As we have limited resources(the hard disk started to shrink really fast) . We decided to aggregated the hourly data using transforms. Each hour we started a new contentious transform, that aggregated the data into again hourly indices. After the transform had done it's job(aggregated the whole hourly data) we would stop it.

Running this setup performed quit well for the first 3 weeks, but after that our transforms started to get slower and slower(we also had a spike in our traffic, which is also relevant). But transforms, that previously finished for about an hour started to take double the time, this lead to multiple transforms running simultaneously and lead to overall cluster slowdown. So we stopped the transforms(as we also have other indices that contain more delicate data and we did not wanted to stop indexing them) and added some additional logstash machines and one additional node to the cluster.

My question is could this slowdown in performance be the result the much more sizable amount of shards that we had after a few weeks of uptime, as we have small shards, but our memory is relatively steady - clusterwide it hovers around 50-60%?