Elasticsearch 2.4.0 crashing during heavy bulk index loads

Hi all,

I am fairly new to Elasticsearch and am very impressed thus far. However, I am running into a problem as I test it to insure it is something I could run in a production environment. I'm hopeful that someone here might have some insight as to my issue.

I'm running ES 2.4 under Linux (64bit) Mint 18 (4 CPUs) using the Oracle 8 JDK (1.8.0_60). I have also tried, with the same results, using version 1.8.0_101. I'm using the default ES settings except that I am allocating 4Gb and locking that memory as per the documented guidelines. For now, I'm running 1 node with 4 shards.

The issue I'm seeing is that, when I try to index large volumes of documents (ie: 8 threads inserting 100 documents at a time using the bulk api) through the Java client, I start seeing messages about the index being corrupted and the JVM crashes, thus bringing down ES. Here are some of the logging details I see when this occurs:

[2016-09-12 10:44:57,386][ERROR][index.engine ] [n1] [index1][0] failed to merge
org.apache.lucene.index.CorruptIndexException: checksum failed (hardware problem?) : expected=5633a4a2 actual=6fae7389 (resource=BufferedChecks
umIndexInput(NIOFSIndexInput(path="/home/elastic/index1/nodes/0/indices/index1/0/index/_45v.cfs") [slice=_45v_Lucene54_0.dvd]))
at org.apache.lucene.codecs.CodecUtil.checkFooter(CodecUtil.java:334)
at org.apache.lucene.codecs.CodecUtil.checksumEntireFile(CodecUtil.java:451)
at org.apache.lucene.codecs.lucene54.Lucene54DocValuesProducer.checkIntegrity(Lucene54DocValuesProducer.java:475)
at org.apache.lucene.codecs.perfield.PerFieldDocValuesFormat$FieldsReader.checkIntegrity(PerFieldDocValuesFormat.java:341)
at org.apache.lucene.codecs.DocValuesConsumer.merge(DocValuesConsumer.java:135)
at org.apache.lucene.index.SegmentMerger.mergeDocValues(SegmentMerger.java:150)
at org.apache.lucene.index.SegmentMerger.merge(SegmentMerger.java:105)