Elasticsearch Benchmarking

Hello together,

I am fairly new in Benchmarking and also in Benchmarking Elasticsearch. I'm using Apache JMeter in order to assess Elasticsearch's performance. Currently, I am working on the indexing performance of Elasticseach. In order to make it comparable with Splunk and Solr. I am not using the bulk index, instead I am using N-times HTTP requests to Elasticsearch. My question, how I know how long Elasticsearch does take in order to index a HTTP update request? Particularly, JMeter provides a metric which is called throughput. It shows how much requests I can handle per second. So the thing is, if I am sending a request to Elasticsearch and it directly responds with ok, is then the document already created? Because I am interested in the time where Elasticsearch takes time to create the specific document when it gets the HTTP request. Because I think that response time is: time for send http request + time for index document + time for send http response. Remark: JMeter and the Elasticsearch node are running on the same server. I am currently only interested in the time for index the document.
It would be great if you can help me.

Best regards

You'll get a response back with the time it took, that will contain the time it took.

1 Like

But is this going to fit your usage pattern? Because if not, it's an inaccurate benchmark as Elasticsearch can handle concurrent bulk requests at incredibly high rates of ingest.

You can get this on a total basis from the nodes stats API:

"indexing" : {
          "index_total" : 1024,
          "index_time_in_millis" : 560,
          "index_current" : 0,
          "index_failed" : 0,
          "delete_total" : 0,
          "delete_time_in_millis" : 0,
          "delete_current" : 0,
          "noop_update_total" : 0,
          "is_throttled" : false,
          "throttle_time_in_millis" : 0
        },